Who inspires you?

We don’t know about you…but sometimes we’re just stuck when it comes to “what’s for dinner?” or…even better…”what’s for pudding??”.

Obviously the pudding question is at the top of the list for most of us cake ladies (and gents) and so we are putting together a list on our blog of websites, blogs and books YOU find inspirational and useful.

We’d love for you to send us links and suggestions of websites and blogs you use and books you are always referring to and then we’ll organise them into some cunning cakey bakey/cooky booky list with headings and subheadings and all that jazz.

You can leave suggestions in the comment form, by emailing us, leaving a message on the facebook page or even tweeting us.

We are looking forward to gathering and compiling and…most of all…being inspired!

8 thoughts on “Who inspires you?

  1. What a lovely idea to compile a listy-wisty of things!

    For me, it has to be Delia Smith. First baking book that I bought about 5 years ago. Totally idiot proof. Does exactly what she says on the tin.

    Then I use my Primrose Cupcake book (I know, a dirty word!). But when I’m feeling all girly and creative that book does it for me.

    Next would be the BBC food pages. Type in a random ingredient and up pops lots of inspiration.

    I’m fairly new to using blogs so they don’t feature on my list, but I’m open to suggestion.

    Good luck!

    Clare x

  2. Oooh where to start! For her website but even more her cookbooks, I would nominate Nigella. I can read her books like novels frankly but her puds are lovely to make and eat. And secondly I’d nominate Falling Cloudberries by Tessa Kiros. Most beautifully named and written book and one of my most thoroughly used! I could easily go on and on!!!

  3. Falling Cloudberries by Tessa Kiros – beautifully written and presented. If I could publish a cookbook it would like this and it’s my most thoroughly used! All her books are inspiring.

  4. Those that have been the biggest inspiration to me in recent years are Ruth Clemens, Louise Brimelow and Edd Kimber from GBBO. Dan Lepard and Pierre Herme. And last, but by no means least, it has to be the fabbytits, HarbourHussy aka Lisa Brunton Stocks.
    They all make me want to push baking further out of my comfort zone.
    :~}

  5. My cousin lives in France and is always experimenting with recipes. She’s back to blogging again recently, and you’ll find her blog at: http://hillywillyskitchen.wordpress.com/ – hope you find something there to inspire you. If not yet, there will be more soon, I’m sure.

    I find that although the trusty Delia’s Complete Cookery gives good solid bases for recipes, I’m happy to start with ‘a little bit Delia’ then mix in another cook or chef’s recipe for another part of the dish. For Sunday dinner, our crumble was Delia’s wholemeal crumble topping (with porridge oats, my favourite), then the nectarine filling was from a recipe on Nigella Lawson’s website which we found by doing an internet search.

    When I’m searching for inspiration for Crail Food Festival links, I often seem to be finding Karen Burns-Booth’s lovely blog http://www.lavenderandlovage.com which has lots of links elsewhere.

    The Hairy Bikers mayonnaise was the favourite in our house this summer (although, again we may have fiddled with the recipe if we didn’t have the right ingredients).

    I like to read Nigel Slater’s recipes and columns, and searched his recipe for beetroot and seed cake out when I was looking for one to bake for one of the Edinburgh Cake Ladies events. I recently made his lemon curd, but it’s come out a little too set (but I can’t find my usual recipe which I copied out of a Readers Digest book many years ago).

    I often read Tom Kitchin’s column in Scotland on Sunday, but only occasionally follow his recipes.

    I have a big folder of bits and pieces I’ve cut from magazines or picked up in Sainsbury’s over the years, and some of these have become family favourite recipes – such as a Thai Grilled Chicken recipe from Sainsbury’s and a Salmon with Herb Crust and Pineapple and Tomato sauce which I got off a packet of dried pineapple.

    How many inspirations would you like me to post?

Leave a Reply

